Audio- wired options

Got my Picopix earlier in the week and have already mounted With a ceiling mount . Bought a 100 inch Tripod screen , but more than pleased with the way it works directly on the wall in the basement . Having a sound issue though ; Currently running audio with Bluetooth connection to a Sony sound bar with wireless sub and wireless rear speakers. Audio drops out now and then , which is very annoying . Wondering what people are using for wired connection to speaker. Sound bar has HDMI in , optical on and analog in . What’s my best option ?

1 Like

Anything that works from the headphones jack of the PPX should work for getting sound out of the PPX to a speaker.
HDMI and USB-C only provide video IN, nothing out.

Thanks for your prompt response . . So basically the only option for wired sound is a headphone cable ? I’m no sound engineer , But I don’t think the headphone cable is able to transmit 5.1 surround sound . Did Philips just forget the include an optical audio connection ?

Are you using WiFi at 2,4Ghz or 5GHz? IF you use 2,4 your drop-out issue may be due to that. Try 5GHz and see if it helps.

2 Likes

The USB-connector (blue one) on the Picpopix Max can output sound digitally.
But only to speakers that are compatible.
Almost all speakers with a USB-C connector are compatible.
Does your soundbar has a USB-C connector?

I have a bluetooth speaker with a USB-C connector and when I connect it with the blue USB connector on the Picopix Max I get sound out of my speaker.

4 Likes

Do mean USB A, as the USB C is video in only, yes?

Yes

1 Like

Thanks guys . My sound bar has optical in , hdmi in And headphone in . No usb a in . Any suggestions as to how I can connect to The usb a from the PPX . Will check the ghz of the connection too , I’ve got a google WiFi box right next to it , so should be running on 5 ghz.

Interesting, nice find didn’t know about this, but will it output 5.1 channels?

Not sure if something like this will work