iPhone, iOS and the PPM

I started posting about my issues on other topics but there needs to be a general iPhone and PPM topic IMO.

I backed this device because of all the messaging that this would work with my iPhone. So far, I am unable to stream any content from my iPhone to the PPM other than a simple screen mirror to see my iPhone’s screen, photos, etc. No apps will play any shows or movies to the PPM.

I understand that this may change with time but it is NOT what I was told going into it. I was basically lied to. And that feeling sucks. My wife asked me yesterday how much money I spent on this “piece of junk”… That sucks…

So - @philips team - what are you all doing about integrating with iOS, iPhones and when can we expect the PPM to work with the iPhone?

I am new to this type of tech so if I missed something or if I am doing something wrong, please let me know if there is a way to use my iPhone with the PPM.

Cheers!

2 Likes

@OcD

I’m finding the same exact thing. I can mirror my iPhone and iPad screen, but “casting” any video to the PPM seems impossible. It appears to me that the iOS device recognizes the PPM and attempts to cast to it, but I never get a picture. Some apps give audio, but never video; just a blank screen.

I mentioned in another topic that if I plug in my old ChromeCast (to the PPM’s HDMI port), I can stream video from iPad/iPhone and it seems to work well. But that defeats one of the main purposes of this projector for me; easy iOS integration.

Overall, I really like the PPM. I just hope this issue gets resolved in the near future since it was a major selling point for me.

2 Likes

Hello, which content are you trying to cast/mirror ?

1 Like

Netflix, Apple TV+, HBO GO, Prime Video, the security cameras at my office.

I understand some of these apps have apps I can find from the app store on the device but to that type or response I’d say, “so what”…

1 Like