My 30 Day Picopix Max Review

My 30-day Philips Picopix Max Review

So after a 9 months wait, my new baby finally arrived. It was certainly not my longest crowdfunding gestation but after being burnt several times, I thought the Philips brand (although it is just licenced) and European based manufacturer would have ensured a more timely delivery. But I hadn’t counted on coronavirus - which definitely accounted for 50% of the wait.

So, now I’ve been playing with it for a month, can I tell you it was worth the wait? Well, I’m certainly happy with it but had I known it would take 9 months I may have chosen a different product, from say Anker or Xiaomi. And I certainly wouldn’t ever consider paying the claimed RRP of €899.

A big investment to upgrade

This is my 3rd pico projector, so I am a bit of a veteran and it’s interesting to see how these devices have evolved.

My first projector was an Optoma PK301 which I bought around 8yrs ago for around £250 (around €280) rather less than the £350RRP. It was a 50 lumens box that weighed around 250g. It had a memory card slot and built in media player that I found could play hardly anything. But paired with a low cost Sumvision MP4 player with HDMI out, that could play any format from a USB memory device, it proved great for kids movie nights on vacation.

But the need for an external player and mains power did make it a bit of a cumbersome travel solution. So around 4 years ago I decided to splash out on a upgrade - a tiny pico projector the size of 2 phones, called the ECsee M6, also WXGA 854*480 pixels native resolution, a claimed 100 lumens, built in Android 4.4, a 4200mAh battery and wifi and bluetooth connectivity.