Wall Color Correction

In which version can we expect correction for a colored wall in picopix max?

4 Likes

Does it work for red colored wall too?
I’ve never used a projector before and my room has a red wall

No, any color correction for walls will only work on lightly colored walls as far as I know.

2 Likes

… and I think it will work only for internal content as it is software function, therefore not for HDMI or USB-C source…

If the wall is colored, it’s always better to use a canvas (regardless of the projector being used).
One can find all sorts of canvases for such projectors, from a simple one hanging on a wall (these are generally very cheap), to retractable ones (with a remote and a motor rolling it up and down)

In the (currently not public) colour app, the recommended adjustment is to select one of 19 “looks” — each of which has a slightly different colour profile / white balance. Look 0 and 1 are used as default plugged and unplugged calibration. Looks 2-19 can be selected (temporarily) as per your preferences. This is a safe-to-use option that doesn’t affect thermals or battery life.

I’m trying to get the colour app released with the next update (1.0.26). 1.0.25 is going up tonight in all likelihood.

6 Likes

Hi @Philips_Support_P.

Du you confirm it will only be available for internal or casting content ?

Hi @LLG — the colour app affects ALL sources: internal Android, screen casting, HDMI and USB-C.

The updated default colour calibration of software update v1.0.25 also applies to all sources.

4 Likes

Very good news !

How can you do that ?
It’s not done thru Android ?

This is a good idea, as a portable projector may be asked to project onto who knows how many colors of surfaces in a year. Thanks.

1 Like

@Philips_Support_P