Root Access, now or never?

Is it possible to root the ppm or will it ever be available for advanced users like myself, I’ve been using rooted features on my phone for many years and I would quite enjoy to use it on my PPM as well, what are your thoughts on this?

1 Like

Hi @maxbarno, we don’t plan to open root access.

One way is if you modify the update package somehow, but we’re sorry we can’t give you instructions on how to do it. We have restrictions due to DRM reasons.

On the other hand, there are some people on this forum who have the required know-how. So far we’ve not been asked to censor community discussion related to this.

9 Likes

Do you have usernames to such individuals to share to me, perhaps in a pm?

/Max

Perhaps if you ask them to pm you instead, they will reveal themselves to you. :bulb:

Or try the search …

i’m also interested in this but i can’t find any specific steps to achieve it

Psst @rursache.

3 Likes

@Shahraiz, seems like there is a reason to post this so I’d like to ask you (please forgive me for probably not so smart question) - After doing this will I have a custom rom installed with GMS or will I have rooted Android … or both? Because what I see there is this:

Getting root access

Install 2a-root.zip via TWRP will give you root access through ADB (both cable and/or network). Afterwards you can use ADB to make direct modifications to the system partition.

So doesn’t this mean that the root access is only while in ADB? Which means no rooted Android while using PPM for watching stuff? The reason why I need root access is to be able to use an app called AirMusic - it needs rooted Android in order to “catch” Android audio stream and then cast it in my case to my Sonos speakers since even though it was promised as far as I can see PPM won’t get Sonos support at all.